Christmas Markets & Christmas Traditions

One of the most romantic Christmas Markets certainly is Lindau’s Harbour Christmas Market. From Oberstaufen you can easily get there by train, the island station is located directly towards the market.

The "angel-flight" at 6.30 p.m. is the daily highlight at the Schlossweihnacht in Isny.

In Kempten you can find one of the largest Christmas Markets in the Allgäu. It has an own Christmas stage, where numerous concerts and readings take place.

A typical custom around St. Nicolas Day is the Bärbele- und Klausentreiben. Young, unmarried men (Klausen) and women (Bärbele) stroll through the villages in the disguise of scary creatures, to banish winter spirits. On 4th December the Bärbeletreiben takes place in Oberstaufen and the Klausen stroll through the village on 5th & 6th December.

 

Christmas Markets 2022

Date Location                                                
Wed, 23rd November Kempten
Thur, 24th November Lindau, Kempten
Fri, 25th November Lindau, Kempten, Bad Hindelang
Sat, 26th November Lindau, Kempten, Bad Hindelang, Immenstadt, Wangen, Heimenkirch
Sun, 27th November Lindau, Kempten, Bad Hindelang, Immenstadt, Simmerberg
Mon, 28th November Kempten, Bad Hindelang
Tue, 29th November Kempten, Bad Hindelang
Wed, 30th November Kempten, Bad Hindelang, Isny, Sonthofen
Thur, 1st December Lindau, Kempten, Bad Hindelang, Isny
Fri, 2nd December Lindau, Kempten, Bad Hindelang, Isny, Sonthofen
Sat, 3rd December Lindau, Kempten, Bad Hindelang, Isny, Sonthofen, Wangen, Lindenberg, Weitnau
Son, 4th December Lindau, Kempten, Bad Hindelang, Isny, Sonthofen, Weiler
Mon, 5th December Kempten, Sonthofen
Tue, 6th December Kempten, Sonthofen
Wed, 7th December Kempten
Thur, 8th December Lindau, Kempten
Fri, 9th December Lindau, Kempten
Sat, 10th December Lindau, Kempten, Oberstaufen, Wangen
Sun, 11th December Lindau, Kempten, Oberstaufen
Mon, 12th December Kempten
Tue, 13th December Kempten
Wed, 14th December Kempten
Thur, 15th December Lindau, Kempten
Fri, 16th December Lindau, Kempten
Sat, 17th December Lindau, Kempten, Wangen
Sun, 18th December Lindau, Kempten
Mon, 19th December Kempten
Tue, 20th December Kempten
Wed, 21st December Kempten
Thur, 22nd December Kempten
global $language_content; $language_name = $language_content->language;